Wednesday, March 31, 2010

How to View Hidden and System Files and Folders in Vista

Seeing your hidden files and system files in Vista is not much different than in XP. Here are the step-by-step directions. Remember that system files are hidden for a reason. Don’t go messin’ around with stuff.
1. Click the round blue Start thing in the left corner
2. Click Control Panel
3. Click Folder Options
4. Click the View tab
5. Click Show hidden files and folders
6. If you want to see system files as well, unclick Hide protected operating system files (Recommended)
7. Click OK

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

10 Ways To Improve Performance in Windows XP

Personally, I don’t see the point in upgrading your hardware if your computer does everything you need it to. However, sometimes it’s nice to improve what you already have. In this guide we will learn how to make the most out of the hardware you have and make windows XP run faster.

1. Defragment Your Hard Disk

Imagine you are in a shopping mall, and the person you are with wants to visit fifteen different shops. However, this person ends up walking you up and down the mall six times. Does that make sense? Of course not – as human beings, we like to do things in order to save time.
When your hard drive becomes fragmented, it is literally wasting time by looking in all kinds of places on the disk for all of the pieces of one file. Defragmenting your drive is a great solution to speed up your computer as it puts all the files together in order.
• Click Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Disk Defragmenter
• Click the drives you want to defrag and click Analyze
• Click Defragment

2. Defragment you Hard Disk on Boot

To make windows XP start more quickly, you can defragment your boot files. This will decrease the time it takes for your computer to boot.
Boot defragment should be enabled by default; however, it might not be enabled on your computer. To ensure that boot defragment is enabled:
• Hold the Windows Key and press R.
• Type in Regedit
• Go to
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Dfrg\BootOptimizeFunction
• Ensure the Enable string value is set as Y
• Exit the Registry
• Reboot

3. Detect and Repair Disk Errors

Over time, your hard disk develops bad sectors. Bad sectors slow down hard disk performance and sometimes make data writing difficult or even impossible. To detect and repair disk errors, Windows has a built-in tool called the Error Checking utility. It’ll search the hard disk for bad sectors and system errors and repair them for faster performance.
• Follow Start > My Computer
• In My Computer right-click the hard disk you want to scan and click Properties
• Click the Tools tab
• Click Check Now
• Select the Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors check box
• Click Start

4. Use a Flash Memory to Boost Performance

Windows Vista comes with ReadyBoost; Windows XP does not have a tool like this – that’s why we’ll need eBoostr. eBoostr uses a USB thumb drive to create an extra cache of the most commonly used data.
Solid state memory (what your USB drive uses) has excellent transfer speeds; therefore, it can be used to store and access data that is needed quickly. Unlike RAM, the data is stored on your thumb drive and can be used next time you use your computer — a great time saver.
• Plug in a flash drive
• Windows XP will use eBoostr to utilize the flash memory to improve performance.
• Your drive will be configured and you are good to go. Don’t expect miracles – but stick with it and your computer will begin to perform more efficiently.

5. Optimize Your Pagefile.sys

The pagefile is used as another cache as well as RAM. The pagefile stores data on commonly used applications. If you have less than 512mb of ram, then your page file will be automatically configured. If you have more than 512mb of ram, please continue.
• Right click on My Computer and select Properties
• Select the Advanced tab
• Under Performance choose the Settings button
• Select the Advanced tab again and under Virtual Memory select Change
• Highlight the drive containing your page file and make the initial Size of the file the same as the Maximum Size of the file.
Windows XP sizes the page file to about 1.5X the amount of actual physical memory by default. While this is good for systems with smaller amounts of memory (under 512MB) it is unlikely that a typical XP desktop system will ever need 1.5 X 512MB or more of virtual memory – so change the ratio to 1:1 page file size to physical memory size.


6. Disable Indexing Services

Indexing Services is a little application that uses a lot of CPU. By indexing and updating lists of all the files on the computer, it helps you to do a search for something faster as it scans the index list. But if you know where your files are, you can disable this system service. It won’t do any harm to you machine, whether you search often or not very often.
• Go to Start
• Click Settings
• Click Control Panel
• Double-click Add/Remove Programs
• Click the Add/Remove Window Components
• Uncheck the Indexing services
• Click Next


7. Speedup Folder Browsing

You may have noticed that every time you open My Computer to browse folders that there is a little delay. Windows XP automatically searches for network files and printers every time you open Windows Explorer. To turn this off, do the following:
• Go to My Computer, click Tools > Folder Options…
• Click the View tab.
• Now find Automatically search for network folders and printers and uncheck the box.
• Press OK
• Problem solved!

8. Disable Performance Counters

Windows XP has a performance monitor utility which monitors several areas of your PC’s performance. These utilities take up system resources so disabling is a good idea.
• Download and install the Extensible Performance Counter List
• Then select each counter in turn in the ‘Extensible performance counters’ window and clear the ‘performance counters enabled’ checkbox at the bottom button below.

9. Optimize Display Settings

If you are happy to remove some of the flashy looks of Windows XP, do the following.
• Right click on the desktop and click Properties…
• Click on the Appearance tab.
• Click Effects
• Uncheck the following:
• Show shadows under menus.
• Show windows contents while dragging.
You may see other options you feel you can disable.

10. Remove Unused Fonts

Fonts, especially TrueType fonts, use quite a bit of system resources. For optimal performance, trim your fonts down to just those that you need to use on a daily basis and fonts that applications may require.
• Open Control Panel
• Open Fonts folder
• Move fonts you don’t need to a temporary directory (e.g. C:\OLDFONTS) just in case you need or want to bring a few of them back. The more fonts you uninstall, the more system resources you will gain.

11)

Performance Options
 
Performance Options
Right click on your "My Compooter" icon, and click "Properties". Click the "Advanced" tab. Click the "settings" button under the section called "Performance". Select the item that says "Adjust for best performance". Click "Apply". Your screen will flash a second or two and you'll immediately notice some differences in not only the look but of the speed of Windows

Monday, March 29, 2010

Change your Internet Explorer home page

  1. Open Internet Explorer by clicking the Start button Picture of the Start button, and then clicking Internet Explorer.
  2. Navigate to the webpage you would like to set as the home page.
  3. Click the arrow to the right of the Home button Picture of the Home button, and then click Add or Change Home Page.
  4. In the Add or Change Home Page dialog box, do one of the following:
    • To make the current webpage your only home page, click Use this webpage as your only home page.
    • To start a home page tab set or to add the current webpage to your set of home page tabs, click Add this webpage to your home page tabs.
    • To replace your existing home page or home page tab set with the webpages you currently have open, click Use the current tab set as your home page. This option will only be available if you have more than one tab open in Internet Explorer.
  5. Click Yes to save your changes.

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Attach a file or other item to an e-mail message

Attachments are files or items (item: An item is the basic element that holds information in Outlook (similar to a file in other programs). Items include e-mail messages, appointments, contacts, tasks, journal entries, notes, posted items, and documents.) that can be sent as part of an e-mail message. This article explains how to send attachments.
For information about receiving attachments in e-mail, see View, open, change, and save attachments.
In this article

Troubleshooting

Attach a file to a message

  1. On the File menu, click New, and then click Mail Message.
  2. On the Message tab, in the Include group, click Attach File.Attach File
  3. In the Insert File dialog box, browse to and select the file that you want to attach, and then click Insert.If you don't see the file that you want in the appropriate folder, make sure that All files (*.*) is selected in the Files of type box, and that Windows Explorer is configured to show file name extensions.
 Tip   You can also attach file from the new message's Insert tab.
 Important   By default, Outlook blocks potentially unsafe attachments (including .bat, .exe, .vbs, and .js files) that might contain viruses. If you attach such a file to an e-mail message, you will be asked whether you want to send a potentially unsafe attachment. If you answer Yes, Outlook will send the attachment. If you answer No, you can then remove the potentially unsafe attachment.
Microsoft Office Outlook
 Tip   You can attach multiple files simultaneously by selecting the files and dragging them from a folder on your computer to an open message in Outlook.
Top of Page Top of Page

Attach a message or other item to a message

You can attach items (item: An item is the basic element that holds information in Outlook (similar to a file in other programs). Items include e-mail messages, appointments, contacts, tasks, journal entries, notes, posted items, and documents.) and other messages to a new message:
  1. On the File menu, click New, and then click Mail Message.
  2. On the Message tab, in the Include group, click Attach Item.Image
  3. In the Look in list, click the folder that contains the item that you want to attach.
  4. Click the item that you want, and then click OK.
 Tip   You can also attach an item from the new message's Insert tab.
Top of Page Top of Page

Where do attachments appear in my message?

Where attachments appear in your message depends on the format in which you compose the message:
  • If the message format is HTML or plain text, attachments appear in the attachment box below the Subject line.Attachment line
  • If the message format is Rich Text, attachments appear in the body of the message. Even though the file appears to be embedded in the message, it is actually still a separate attachment.Attachment in message body
The format in which a message is composed is indicated in the title bar at the top of the message.
Message
Top of Page Top of Page

Attachment size limitations

Outlook does not impose any size limit on attachments. However, most e-mail server administrators and Internet service providers (ISPs) do set limits on the overall message size, which is the sum of all attachments plus the content of the message itself. Typically, premium-level services provide more e-mail file storage space and allow larger messages than standard-level services. For more information on the maximum allowed message size, contact your ISP or the e-mail server administrator in your organization.
If you are attaching a very large file, you should first compress the file by using a zip program. Outlook files that are saved in the default Open XML Formats with the following file extensions are automatically zipped: .docx, .dotx, .xlsx, .xltx, .pptx, .potx, and .ppsx.
Top of Page Top of Page

Problems with .zip files

If files that you attach are zipped when you do not expect them to be, check to see whether a .zip utility has been installed in Outlook as a COM add-in. You can disable this sort of add-in by doing the following:
  1. On the Tools menu, click Trust Center, and then click Add-ins.
  2. In the Manage list, click COM Add-Ins, and then click Go.
  3. In the COM Add-ins dialog box, clear the check box next to the add-in name, and then click OK.


http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/outlook/HP012319501033.aspx?mode=print

Friday, March 19, 2010

Unable to Log You on Because of an Account Restriction

This behavior can occur if the account you are using to connect with has a null (blank) password. You cannot establish Remote Desktop connections when you are using an account with a null password.

You can disable blank password restrictions by using a policy. To locate and change this policy:

1. Click Start, point to Run, type gpedit.msc, and then click OK to start the Group Policy Editor.
2. Open Computer Configuration\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options\Accounts: Limit local account use of blank passwords to console logon only.
3. Double-click Limit local account use of blank passwords to consol logon only.
4. Click Disabled, and then click OK.
5. Quit Group Policy Editor.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;303846

Thursday, March 18, 2010

Disable USB Removable Mass Storage Device Drive Access in Windows


It’s possible to simply disable USB ports support in PC BIOS in order to prevent and forbid computer user from using USB removable flash drive or mass storage device (portable hard disk drive) to copy and transfer data and files. However, disabling USB ports totally also shutdown the ability for system to use USB based keyboard, mouse, webcam, printer, scanner and etc, which has become a common connectivity norm in modern computer.
As a workaround, use the following registry hack to stop USB Mass Storage Device drivers from starting when the system boots up.
  1. Run Registry Editor (regedit).
  2. Navigate to the following registry key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\UsbStor
  3. In the right pane, double click on the Start value name.
  4. Change the value data to 4 to disable the removable USB mass storage device drive access. Disable USB Mass Storage Device Drive Access
  5. To revert and re-enable the drive access for removable USB mass storage device driver, change back the value data for Start to its original default of 3.
The change will take effect immediately to block any USB mass storage device such as USB flash drive, USB key and portable harddisk from been used in the system, while still allowing hardware components to work properly via USB connection. The hack works in most Windows operating system such as Windows Vista, XP, Windows Server 2008, 2003 and 2000.
For user who dare not to modify the registry manually, simply download the following registration entries file to enable or disable the USB drive. Extract the downloaded content in .ZIP format, and then double click on the .REG file to open and apply or merge the registry values to system.
IntelliAdmin also has a free tool named USB Drive Disabler that automatically change the registry key value accordingly to enable or disable the USB drives on Windows 2000, 2003, 2008, XP and Vista system with just one click. In Windows Vista, the program has to be run as administrator.
USB Drive Disabler
Select Disable USB Drives or Enable USB Drivers and then click on Apply to set the registry setting accordingly.
Download IntelliAdmin USB Drive Disabler: DisableUSB_Free.exe

Disable and Stop Restart or Reboot After Installing Windows Update

Set Automatic Updates to “Download updates for me, but let me choose when to install them”. Go to Control Panel > System > Automatic Updates tab.
Disable auto restart for automatic updates in Group Policy..
Disable Permanently – Using Group Policy
  1. Head to Start >> Run >> type gpedit.msc >> hit Enter
  2. Above step will open group policy editor
  3. Now go to Computer Configuration >> Administrative Templates >> Windows Components >> Windows Update
  4. On the right hand side pane, double click on No auto-restart with logged on users for scheduled automatic updates installations and enable it
  5. Windows Update Group Policy

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

network ok but no internet

OpenDNS servers:
DNS1: 208.67.222.222
DNS2: 208.67.220.220
Turn off your firewall
2) Open your "wireless adapater" properties, make sure your "TCP/IP properties" have "Automatically assigned by DHCP" everywhere
3) If the above steps didn't bring any light, then open "Status" for your "Wireless connection", write down your IP address (the first line), network mask, gateway address and DNS servers addresses
4) Disable your "wireless adapter", open its properties, change "TCP/IP properties" to the written down information, change the places of DNS server with written one, so that DNS1 will be DNS2 and DNS2 will be DNS1
5) Enable your "wireless adapter" and try google
ipconfig /releasel
ipconfig /all
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /renew

netsh int ip set dns

netsh int ip set dns
netsh winsock reset
------ reinstall service pack also

solved: found problem with IPSEC service. after stopping the service internet started working. 

Thursday, February 25, 2010

prioritize LAN Connection & Wireless in Windows XP

I would recommend reordering the list of connections you have for
networking, by this I mean, going into

Control Panel
| Network Connections

Click on the â€Å“Advancedâ€� menu item


Click â€Å“Advanced Settingsâ€�

On the â€Å“Adapters and Bindingsâ€� tab look at the list of connections you have,
if you require you LAN to have priority over you WLAN, then move the LAN
connection to the top and WLAN below using the Green arrows on the right hand
side.

This might help, cant guarantee it but it̢۪s another option to try if the
first suggestion didn̢۪t work.

Friday, February 19, 2010

Adobe reader 9 plugin crashes

fix this issue remove the following dll files from the C:\windows\system32:

ace.dll
AGM.dll
BIB.dll
BIBUtils.dll
JP2KLib.dll



FIX: A batch script would be something like this:
move /y %windir%\system32\ace.dll %windir%\system32\ace.dll.old
move /y %windir%\system32\AGM.dll %windir%\system32\AGM.dll.old
move /y %windir%\system32\BIB.dll %windir%\system32\BIB.dll.old
move /y %windir%\system32\BIBUtils.dll %windir%\system32\BIBUtils.dll.old
move /y %windir%\system32\JP2KLib.dll %windir%\system32\JP2KLib.dll.old
 
download the software from below path 
http://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B-0arqBLL47NNjJhMjEzMTctNjJhNi00OTcwLWFiOGQtY2Q1YmM5MTEzMTQz&hl=en 

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/391737

Changing Root Password in linux


1. Entering Runlevel 1

Some Linux distribution, such as Ubuntu for instance, offer a specific bootmenu entry where it is stated "Recovery Mode" or "Single-User Mode". If this is your case, selecting this menu entry will boot your machine into single user mode, you can carry on with the next part. If not, you might want to read this part.
Using GRUB, you can manually edit the proposed menu entry at boot time. To do so, when GRUB is presenting the menu list (you might need to press ESC first), follow those instructions:
  • use the arrows to select the boot entry you want to modify.
  • press e to edit the entry
  • use the arrows to go to kernel line
  • press e to edit this entry
  • at the end of the line add the word single
  • press ESC to go back to the parent menu
  • press b to boot this kernel
The kernel should be booting as usual (except for the graphical splash screen you might be used to), and you will finally get a root prompt (sh#).
Here we are, we have gained root access to the filesystem, let's finally change the password.

2. Changing Root Password

As root, changing password does not ask for your old password, therefore running the command:

# passwd
That's it, you can now reboot your box and gain root access again

Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications" tool

RemoveWGA enables you to remove the Microsoft "Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications" tool, which is calling home and connect to Microsoft servers every time you boot (pilot version), or every two weeks (current release).

Once the WGA Notification tool has checked your OS and has confirmed you had a legit copy, there is no decent point or reason to check it again and again every boot. Moreover, connecting to Microsoft brings security issue for corporate networks, and privacy issues for everyone. It is also unclear which information are transmitted (Microsoft published an official answer, but an individual study brought some questions). All of that, along the fact that Microsoft used deceptive ways to make you install this tool (it was told you it was an urgent security update, whereas it is a new installation giving you no extra security) makes me calling this tool a spyware.

Also, Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications is different than Windows Genuine Advantage Validation. RemoveWGA only remove the notification part, phoning home, and does not touch the Validation part. As the time I'm writting this, the Validation part is mandatory for some not critical downloads from Microsoft, but the Notification part is not mandatory at all, and you are able to install all of the security updates without installing this one. This may change in the future thought, I don't know what are the Microsoft plans.

Note : once the WGA notification is removed, the Automatic Update will bug you about installing the update again. This is normal, and out of the scope of RemoveWGA (since at this point, the WGA notification is uninstalled from your system). If you are concerned about tweaking Automatic Update to prevent Microsoft trying to push the update on your computer. 


http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/Uninstallers/RemoveWGA.shtml

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

system standby VS hibernate


system standby is a hardware/software solution where the hardware and software work together to manage the computer's power usage by shutting down some non-critical systems (Fans, drives, peripherals) and throttling back the critical ones (CPU, Network). Hibernation is a Software only solution that basically takes the current snapshot of the system (RAM memory) and writes it to the hard disk then informs the hardware that it should do a complete shutdown. When the hardware is turned back on, the hardware does a full POST (Power On/Self Test) process and then passes off to the software to do a full boot. Since the software wrote a copy of itself to the hard drive it skips it's full boot process and simply loads the system snapshot written to disk back into RAM and the applications that were running generally have no idea they were not running during that period of time the machine was "off". In short, Hibernation was created to give the false impression of quick "boot" times for users who wanted to start up their computers faster.
All of this seems to suggest that Hibernation would save more energy than System Standby. Although more will be said later on with regards to the subject, it is important to understand how modern PC hardware is designed. In the "old" days2 the power switch was hardwired to the power supply and when the switch was off then the power supply was off and little3 energy was being consumed. In modern configurations4 the power supply is always drawing some energy and supplying the system's motherboard with a trickle current. The motherboard uses this to keep an idea of what state the hardware is in ("on" or "off") and manage the devices accordingly. When a user switches "on" the power button, the motherboard5 determines what state it should change to based on rules. In a two state system the most basic is what state is the hardware in now and then change to the opposite state. As such, Hibernation, System Standby and turning a system "off" will result in similar if not the same power draws.

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

The Remote Simple Mail Transfer Protocol Service Rejected AUTH Negotiation

When users send e-mail to external, remote, or Internet domains, they may receive the following notification from the Postmaster or Administrator of the local Exchange server:
Delivery Status Notification

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.

THIS IS A WARNING MESSAGE ONLY.

YOU DO NOT NEED TO RESEND YOUR MESSAGE

Delivery to the following recipients has been delayed
someone@example.com
The user may also receive the following message indicating the time expiration of delivery attempts for the message:
Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.

Subject: Sender's subject
Sent: Date and time that the message was sent

The following recipient(s) could not be reached:

someone@example.com on date and time
Could not deliver the message in the time limit specified. Please retry or contact your administrator.
(server.contoso.com #4.4.7)

CAUSE
This behavior may occur if the outbound security of the Simple Mail Transfer Pr...


This behavior may occur if the outbound security of the Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) virtual server or the outbound security of one or more SMTP Connectors are set incorrectly.

To verify whether this is the cause:
  1. Open Exchange System Manager.
  2. Expand Servers, and then expand ServerName.
  3. Expand Protocols, and then expand SMTP.
  4. Expand Default SMTP Virtual Server, and then expand Queues.
Remote Delivery Queues will be displayed in retry mode (A Blue Arrow).

To view the description of the queues in retry status:
  1. Right-click a queue in retry status, and then click Properties.
  2. The upper status box should read, "Retry, Remote delivery".
  3. The lower box should read, "The remote SMTP service rejected AUTH negotiation".

RESOLUTION
This resolution addresses two types of delivery methods. Using DNS for Deliver...

This resolution addresses two types of delivery methods.

Using DNS for Delivery

By default, Anonymous access is the default setting for sending SMTP mail by using DNS to all Internet domains. To resolve this behavior:

  1. Follow these steps to change the SMTP virtual server:
    1. Open Exchange System Manager.
    2. Expand ServerName, expand Protocols, and then expand SMTP.
    3. Right-click Default SMTP Virtual Server, and then click Properties
    4. Click the Delivery tab.
    5. Click Outbound Security.
    6. Click to select the Anonymous access option, click OK, and then click OK again.
  2. Follow these steps to change the SMTP connector:
    1. Locate, and then expand Connectors.
    2. Right-click SMTP Connector, and then click Properties
    3. Click the Advanced tab.
    4. Click the Outbound Security button.
    5. Click to select the Anonymous access option, click OK, and then click OK again.
    6. Close Exchange System Manager.

Forwarding Mail Through a Smart Host

Use an SMTP connector for this type of delivery, and set access control to the requirements of the smart host. For more information about when to use an SMTP Connector, see the "References" section.
  1. Use the preceding steps for the SMTP connector.
  2. Set the outbound security according to the requirements of the Smart host
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/329636
  1.  

Thursday, January 21, 2010

how to kill sessions in exchange 2003

There’re several reasons why you would want to use ExMon in your environment, like mentioned above you can view, evaluate and gather real-time data about your users, which can be quite handy as it will help you as an Exchange Administrator better understand current client usage patterns and plan ahead by being proactive and perform the proper upgrades for the future.
Although ExMon is capable of showing you quite a comprehensive set of information about your users, you should bear in mind the tool at the time of this writing only is capable of showing MAPI traffic and load, not other protocols such as OWA, POP3 and IMAP.
ExMon is capable of showing information such as IP addresses used by clients, Outlook versions and mode (cached mode or classic online mode) , Outlook client-side monitoring data and resource use (CPU usage, Server-side processor latency, total latency for network and processing with Outlook 2003 MAPI clients and network bytes.

Installing Microsoft Exchange Server User Monitor

Start by grabbing a copy of ExMon here.
Note:
ExMon is supported on Exchange 2000 Server SP2 and higher, or Exchange Server 2003 SP1.
Now navigate to C:\Program Files\ExMon and execute ExMon.msi. The ExMon Installation wizard will fire up (see Figure 1) and you can simply click Next.

Figure 1: Executing the ExMon Installation Wizard
Read and accept the agreement and click Next as shown in Figure 2

Figure 2:
Reading and accepting the End User Agreement
Now select the Installation folder (default should be just fine) then click Next as in Figure 3.

Figure 3: Specifying the Installation Directory
Let the installation process complete and click Finish.

Figure 4: Finishing the Installation Wizard
Before we can move on and begin playing with the ExMon tool we need to do one more thing, and that is to add two registry keys - RpcEtwTracing and UsePerformanceClock to the registry (see Figure 5). Luckily you don’t have to do this manually as the ExMon installation throws an ExMon.reg file into the installation directory, which you can simply double-click on or run through a command prompt window. It’s mandatory to add these keys in order for ExMon to collect data, and my guess is they will be added automatically as part of the installation wizard in a later ExMon build.

Figure 5: ExMon registry keys

Using ExMon

Now that we got ExMon properly installed let’s fire up the tool by executing the ExMon.exe file from the installation directory (C:\Program Files\ExMon). This will bring us the screen you see in Figure 6 below. As you can see we, when the first update occurs, gets a list of currently connected MAPI clients listed by resource usage.

Figure 6: Tracing MAPI clients in ExMon
As shown in Figure 6 above ExMon by default collects data in one-minute intervals, however this can easily be adjusted by clicking the up and down buttons to the right of Update Interval (min) in the ExMon toolbar. The update interval can be anything between 1 and 30 minutes, if you want it do be more than 30 minutes you should use another data collection method. You can stop or start traces by using the play and stop buttons in the toolbar or alternatively click File > Stop or Start. You can save statistics by clicking the floppy disk icon in the toolbar or File > Save Statistics in the menu.
As you can see in Figure 6 above there are 3 different views to choose between:

View type
Description
By User
Aggregates data about individual user’s consumption of server resources
By Version
Aggregates data about the client MAPI version
By Clientmon
Aggregates data which can help Exchange administrators quantify individual user’s experience with Outlook 2003 (previous Outlook versions is not supported with Clientmon).
Table 1: ExMon View types Note:
Although this article demonstrates how you collect data directly with ExMon (which is the simplest method for short-term data collection) you can as well configure ExMon to collect data with the System Monitor or by using command-line tools. For more details on how this is accomplished see the ExMon documentation located in the ExMon installation directory.
The data collected by ExMon is by default saved in Event Trace Log (.ETL) files in the installation directory (C:\Program Files\ExMon), as can be seen in Figure 7 below.

Figure 7: ExMon Data Collection to Event Trace Log (.ETL) Files

Exporting Data with ExMon

All the data collected by ExMon can be exported to a comma-separated text file (.CSV) which again can be manipulated with a program such as Excel, Access or even SQL Server. This is done by running ExMon in a Command Prompt window with either -SU, -SV or -SC. For example the below command exports the By User data to a .CSV file in a directory named Data under the ExMon installation directory:
ExMon.exe –SU “C:\Program Files\ExMon\data\ByUser.csv”
For further details on exporting ExMon data, again see the ExMon documentation.

The dreaded Unknown StartTrace Error (183) Message

Before you start using the ExMon tool I thought I would tell you about an issue you should be aware of. There have been several cases where different Exchange administrators, when executing ExMon.exe, got an Error 183 message (shown in Figure 8), and actually I also had the pleasure of dealing with it on one of the Exchange 2003 SP1 servers, I’ve been using the tool on (after testing it out in my test lab of course).

Figure 8: Unknown StartTrace Error (183)
The Error 183 message can happen if ExMon crashes or is killed while collecting data, the reason being the Exchange trace continues. Personally I got a bit scared when I saw the trace just continued, but fortunately I later found out it had a limit of 512 MB where the trace will stop collecting automatically. The reason for the 183 error message is quite simple, it’s because when you try to execute ExMon (after a crash or after the process somehow got killed) it will start a new trace, while the old one is still tracing (ExMon only supports one trace at a time).
Alright I don’t want to use this tool unless I know how to fix this problem without rebooting my Exchange production server, I hear you grumble.
I fully understand! I personally had big problems finding out how to stop the Exchange trace, until I was informed of a comment (thanks to Exchange MVP Michael B. Smith) to the ExMon blogpost at You Had Me at EHLO (aka Exchange team blog), where Chris Mitchell (Software Design Engineer from the Microsoft Exchange Performance Engineering Team) did a great comment informing how you can stop a trace using Tracelog.exe which can be found in the Microsoft Driver Development Kit (DDK) for Windows 2000 Server or the Windows Server 2000 Resource Kit. You simply open a command prompt window and execute the following command:
Tracelog -stop “Exchange Event Trace”
Also see Figure 9 below.

Figure 9: Stopping an ExMon trace using Tracelog.exe
Note:
Make sure the ExMon.exe process isn’t running while stopping the trace.
I hoped you found the article useful if you have any questions, comments or other feedbacks please post them to the below thread on the MSExchange.org Message boards:

http://forums.msexchange.org/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=15;t=004838
Relevant Reading
Microsoft Exchange User Monitor (ExMon) tool Documentation (a must read which can be found in the ExMon installation folder)
You Had Me At EHLO...: Introducing the Microsoft Exchange User Monitor (Exmon) tool:
http://blogs.technet.com/exchange/archive/2005/04/06/403409.aspx
Download details: Microsoft Exchange Server User Monitor:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=9a49c22e-e0c7-4b7c-acef-729d48af7bc9&DisplayLang=en

http://www.msexchange.org/tutorials/Microsoft-Exchange-Server-User-Monitor.html

How to manually remove juniper Network Connect


Knowledge Base ID: KB9081
Version: 8.0
Published: 08 Oct 2008
Updated: 08 Oct 2008
Categories: . SSL VPN
. SSL_VPN_(IVE_OS)
Summary:
At times, due to a bad or failed installation, it may be necessary to completely remove Network Connect from the client machine.
Problem or Goal:
If there are installation problems or upgrade issues you can completely remove all the files and folder associated with Network Connect before attempting to reinstall the client.
Solution:
For each operating system, the files and folders that need to removed will be different.  Once these are removed you can restart the Network Connect client installation.
note: If a folder or file listed below does not exist, move onto the next step.
For Linux:
  1. Ensure the Network Connect Service is not running
  2. Delete the folder /.juniper_networks/network_connect
  3. Delete the following file: /.juniper_networks/ncLinuxApp.jar
  4. For 5.2 delete the following folders:
    • /usr/sbin/ncui
    • /usr/sbin/ncsvc
    • /usr/sbin/ncdiag
  5. For 5.3 and newer, delete the following folder:
    • /usr/local/nc
For Macintosh:
  1. Delete the folder /usr//lib/logs/juniper networks
  2. Delete the file Network Connect.app from the /apps folder
  3. Empty the Trash
For Windows:
  1. Remove Juniper Networks Network Connect from Add/Remove Programs, if it exists
  2. Delete the following folders:
    • C:\Program Files\Juniper Networks\Common Files
    • C:\Program Files\Juniper Networks\Network Connect 5.x.x
    • C:\Documents and Settings\\Application Data\Juniper Networks\Network Connect 5.x.x 
    • http://kb.juniper.net/KB9081

ntldr is missing press ctrl+alt+del to restart windows xp

  1. insert the Windows XP bootable CD into the computer.
  2. When prompted to press any key to boot from the CD, press any key.
  3. Once in the Windows XP setup menu press the "R" key to repair Windows.
  4. Log into your Windows installation by pressing the "1" key and pressing enter.
  5. You will then be prompted for your administrator password, enter that password.
  6. Copy the below two files to the root directory of the primary hard disk. In the below example we are copying these files from the CD-ROM drive letter, which in this case is "e." This letter may be different on your computer.

    copy e:\i386\ntldr c:\
    copy e:\i386\ntdetect.com c:\

  7. Once both of these files have been successfully copied, remove the CD from the computer and reboot.

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

not-able-to-open-drives-on-hard-disk-by-double-click

Trouble:
Sometimes it happens in windows XP that you are not able to open drives on your hard disk. When you double clicking on the drives icons or right click on the drive>>explore in My computer ,the drive does not open.
This problem is generally caused by most of the viruses which infect windows XP system. They block or restrict your access to any of the drives.
But don’t worry this is not a big trouble it can be fixed easily.

Fix:
Normally when a virus infects a windows system which causes a drive opening problem, it automatically creates a file named autorun.inf in the root directory of each drive.
This autorun.inf file is a read only ,hidden and a system file and the folder option is also disabled by the virus. This is deliberately done by the virus in order to protect itself.  autorun.inf initiates all the activities that the virus performs when you try to open any drive.
You have to just delete this file and restart your system to correct this problem.
Follow the set of commands below to show and delete the autorun.inf
1. Open Start>>Run and type cmd and press enter. This will open a command prompt window. On this command prompt window type the following steps.
. type cd\ 3. type attrib -r -h -s autorun.inf
4. type del autorun.inf
5. now type d: and press enter for d: drive partition. Now repeat steps 3 and 4. Similarly repeat step 5 for all your hard disk partition.
Restart your system and your trouble will be fixed.